Limited Time Offer

Use Promo Code Texas15

$15 Off 

Texas Concealed Carry Handgun LTC License Benefits:

  • Legally Carry Concealed In 37 States
  • Trespass Protection
  • Campus Carry
  • School Zone Carry
  • Peace of Mind When Carrying
  • Interactions With Law Enforcement

Preview Course→

Quick View

Texas Concealed Carry Course

You can take the online Texas LTC class from anywhere in the United States and receive a Texas license to carry without ever coming to Texas.

It also does not matter which state you are a resident of or which state’s drivers license you have.  Texas issues a permit to residents of all 50 States.

Non-Texas Residents will be exempt from the shooting portion.  Others on the exemption list from having to to do the shooting portion will obviously be certain Texas residents. 

Texas and 36 other states honor the Texas Concealed Carry handgun permit.  This means that even though you might be in one of 14 states which does not honor Texas license, you can still carry a handgun in one of the 36 that does.  Learn individual state laws pertaining to traveling though those states.

States Honoring Texas LTC License-

  • Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Texas DPS Information

  • Eligibility FAQs

  • Lawful Presence Requirements

  • Out-of-State, Non-Texas resident: Per Texas Government Code §411.173, LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
    Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.

Texas *PERMITLESS Online Course

This course will teach you everything you need to know to carry a concealed or open handgun in Texas without the CHL or LTC license.

Learn the Texas laws, restrictions and regulations that come with carrying without a license so you can carry with peace of mind. 

*Discount Does Not Apply To This Course.

See Permitless Educational Course Here>>>

Texas LTC-101 Form

After you successfully pass the approved online examination you will receive an Online/Handgun Proficiency Training LTC 101 form.

Can this be completed online?

Yes, an applicant may receive LTC online training through an Approved Online Course Provider who has been approved in Texas.

What topics are covered during this LTC Class?

The course must cover the four (4) statutory required topics. These include:

  • Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force,
  • Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns,
  • Non-violent dispute resolution,
  • Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.

How long does this training take?

This training typically takes ~4 hours to complete. Most online providers allow you to pause training and resume at your convenience.

What will I receive after I take the course?

Once you have successfully completed your online training, you will receive a signed Online/Handgun Proficiency Training (LTC 101) form that you will submit with your application.

Apply with Texas Department of Public Safety

In addition to the above training, you will need to submit the following online application. Be prepared to provide the following:

  • Valid driver license or identification card,
  • Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information,
  • Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only),
  • Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history,
  • Valid email address

How much does it cost?

The State of Texas currently charges $40 for both first time LTC applicants as well as renewals.  There are discounts for those that meet certain special conditions. For complete list, click here.

Are fees refundable?

Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. If an application is not approved, the fees will not be refunded.

How long does this take?

This process typically takes about 20-30 minutes to complete.

Will I need a gun to complete this training?

Some instructors may require you to use your own gun during the proficiency (shooting) demonstration. However, others may provide the gun and/or ammunition. You will need to consult with a certified instructor to determine if you will need a handgun for the course.

What topics are covered during the proficiency demonstration?

The outline of what is included can be found here.

Is the training difficult?

The shooting proficiency test is not difficult but practice helps. It is recommended that you spend some time practicing shooting at a range if possible before the class.

After I complete everything, how long until I get my license?

Upon completion of the training course and application packet, the state has 60 days from the time it receives your completed materials to issue your license.
Photo HolderLTC-6.pdf
Class CompletionLTC-8.pdf
Certification of License to Carry a Handgun Online Class CompletionLTC-9.pdf
License to Carry a Handgun LawsLTC-16.pdf
Notice – Non-Immigrant – VisaLTC-40.pdf
LTC Change of Address/Name Change/Replacement/ModificationLTC-70.pdf
Renewal ApplicationLTC-77.pdf
Application for License to Carry a HandgunLTC-78A.pdf
Residence History InformationLTC-78B.pdf
Criminal History InformationLTC-78C.pdf
Affidavit for Former Reserve Law Enforcement OfficersLTC-79.pdf
Consent for Use of Fingerprint Card on FileLTC-80.pdf
Affidavit for Judge/AttorneyLTC-82.pdf
Sworn Statement of Handgun ProficiencyLTC-83.pdf
Affidavit for Retired Peace Officer / Retired Federal OfficerLTC-84.pdf
Authorization for Release of RecordsLTC-85.pdf
Knowledge of Laws and Eligibility AffidavitLTC-86.pdf
Instructor Applicants OnlyLTC-90.pdf
Online Course Provider Original ApplicationLTC-91.pdf
Online Course Provider Renewal ApplicationLTC-91A.pdf
Online Course Provider Address and Business History FormLTC-91B.pdf
Online Course Provider Reported History FormLTC-91C.pdf
Online Course Provider AffidavitLTC-92.pdf
School Safety Certification Instructor ApplicationLTC-94.pdf
Certification of School Safety Class CompletionLTC-95.pdf
Affidavit for Retired Railroad Peace Officer/TSCRA Special RangersLTC-96.pdf
Certificate of TrainingLTC-100.pdf
Online Course / Handgun Proficiency Certificate of TrainingLTC-101.pdf
Affidavit of Military ServiceLTC-102.pdf